boiled_egg
The work of months is coming to a head this week. As much as I thrive on a certain amount of pressure, this project has got me biting my nails, nawing my lip and starting awake at ungodly hours in a sweat, brain cranking into overtime about all the things that could possibly go wrong. 

In the meantime, I haven’t been spending a lot of time in the kitchen, so there isn’t much that’s new and interesting for the purposes of food blogging :-) Hence the boiled eggs for breakfast today. Although you can’t beat a good, soft-boiled egg with piles of hot buttery toast. Mmmmmm. Toast. [Stops typing and wanders off to make more.]

So, in substitute of a recipe, here are my answers to the Six Random Things meme that Rachel of Fairy Cake Heaven recently tagged me with. I’ve done something similar in the past but thought it would be fun to write up some food-related facts, what with this being a food blog and all:

1. One of the first things I made in Home Economics class at the age of eleven was macaroni cheese without the cheese as I’d forgotten to bring any with me. So macaroni with white sauce then. I received a mark of 6/10 for it.

2. I hate coffee. Bleurgh. But I have a drawer full of tea and hot chocolate:

tea_drawer

3. My grandad was a baker by trade. You couldn’t tell him you were going round to visit, otherwise you’d come away with more bread than you could possibly eat before it went stale. And it was great bread, so it was a shame to see it go to waste.

4. My favourite meal as a student: crappy white bread, Philidephia cheese and Frazzle crisps. I haven’t had one of those in years… I wonder if I tried one again whether it would be absolutely revolting. Perhaps it’s best left in the drawer marked ‘fondly remembered’.

5. My favourite food-related word of the moment is ‘spudnut’. Go on, try saying it without a smile cracking across your face. Spudnut. See?

It’s a type of doughnut with mashed potato in it and I’m itching to try out the recipe I’ve found to see if the taste is as good as the name.

6. The two books that really got me cooking as an adult were the MooseWood Cookbook and its follow-up The Enchanted Broccoli Forest, both by Molly Katzen. Somewhere in my early twenties, I realised that I couldn’t exist on a diet of Frazzle and Philidephia sandwiches alone (dammit) and a veggie friend recommended Molly’s books. It also helped that, at the time, I lived in a flat with an enormous kitchen and people willing to eat my experimental offerings of Green, Green Noodle Soup, Spinach-Ricotta Pie and many, many others. I still stand by her challah recipe as being the best I’ve ever tasted next to my grandad’s.

OK – would you like to do this meme? I’m throwing it open to anyone who wants a go – but particularly if you read this blog and have never commented before. Why not stop by in the comments section, say hello and tell me a little bit about yourself? :-)

eggshell_empty

