Barefoot Contessa’s voluptuous orange yogurt

I don’t know about you, but I’ve got a list as long as my arm of delicious things from other bloggers that I’d love to make. Then there are all the recipes in my cookbooks that are neatly tabbed and waiting on their time to shine. And let’s not even go looking for that box file bulging with clippings from various magazines and newspapers that I’ve collected over the years.* 

High time, perhaps, to make some inroads into my recipe mountain.

Kickpleat over at Everybody Likes Sandwiches has a great post about a voluptuous orange yogurt from the Barefoot Contessa, Ina Garten, which I bookmarked a while back. As well as being on my ‘must make’ list, this fitted the bill perfectly for a little lazy pottering around the kitchen before settling down with the Sunday papers. A good place to start.

The only difficult thing about this recipe is remembering to set the yogurt up to strain overnight, or for three hours minimum, in order to achieve a thick, creamy consistency. But that’s not too much effort to make in exchange for something that tastes both a little bit decadent and quite healthy too 🙂

Voluptuous orange yogurt from the Barefoot Contessa via Everybody Loves Sandwiches

You’ll need:

1 large container of plain yogurt (I used Glenisk)
1 orange, zested and juiced (I just used half the juice as my orange was quite large)
1/4 cup shredded coconut
1/4 cup almonds, chopped
2 tablespoons dried cherries (I didn’t have any, so I used dates instead)
1 to 2 tablespoons honey

1. Line a sieve with cheesecloth and suspend over a bowl. (Or follow Kickpleat’s excellent suggestion of using a coffee pot and filter. I just used a very closely meshed plastic sieve and crossed my fingers.) Add yogurt and let drain overnight/for at least three hours.

2. Throw out liquid and add the remaining ingredients, stirring well. Serve with granola or fresh fruit.

*One day in the far-off future, archaeologists will unearth this box and surmise that we all lived on endless variations of chocolate cake and worshipped a bespectacled high priest by the name of Nigel Slater. But really, is that so far away from the truth?

