cherry blossom in the garden

The highly-talented Yvonne of It Had Better Be Good has tagged the entire blogosphere with this book meme and it looked like fun, so I thought I’d take up the offer.

The rules are simple:

1. Pick up the nearest book.
2. Open to page 123.
3. Find the fifth sentence.
4. Post the next three sentences.
5. Tag five people and acknowledge who tagged you.

Well, I’m currently noodling through The Ladies of Grace Adieu by Susanna Clarke – a collection of short stories set in the same universe as her epic doorstop of a novel, Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell (which I enjoyed greatly, if for no other reason than it starts in York Minster – somewhere I spent a lot of time when I was at school).

And the above instructions led to this passage:

‘Mr Baillie told me that newborn children are generally the colour of claret; sometimes, he said, they may be dark as port-wine but this child was, to all intents and purposes, black. He was, however, remarkably strong. He gave me a great kick as I passed him to the old woman.’

Does that make you want to keep reading? Who is Mr Baillie? Do you want to know what happens to the baby? The mother? How did the narrator come to the point where he/she was delivering a child?

I haven’t even got to that story yet!

Like Yvonne, I’m not going to tag anyone – but pick it up if you want to have a go. It’s an interesting way to find new books 🙂

The pictures have nothing to do with anything really – just something I snapped at the weekend. The flowers are from the cherry blossom tree in our garden – it finally decided that it might just possibly be springtime around here. I guess I just wanted to record that there has been at least some progress towards better weather – even if we had thunder and rain the next day.

cherry blossom close up

